pre-diabetes

Understanding Prediabetes and how it is Different from Diabetes

David Mendosa Health Guide May 10, 2010
  • For a long time I assumed that you read my posts here because you have diabetes. But from comments and email messages you send me I've learned that many of you have prediabetes or care about someone who does.

    So on May 12 -- this Wednesday -- prediabetes will be the focus of HealthCentral's second teleconference.  The best time of day to accommodate most of the people who might call in would seem to be 8 p.m. Eastern, which is 7 p.m. Central, 6 p.m. Mountain, and 5 p.m. Pacific. That's obviously not perfect for everyone, but looks like the best we can do. 

    Gretchen Becker and I will both be available to answer your questions. She is the author of the book,
     Prediabetes: What You Need to Know to Keep Diabetes Away

    Like me, Gretchen writes about diabetes at 
    HealthCentral. Gretchen and I are old friends, and in fact we started working together about 15 years ago, soon after each of us learned that we had type 2 diabetes.

    Some of you write us or comment on our articles here, and we appreciate the chance that this gives us know what's on your mind. But many of you would rather talk than write about the challenges and successes in preventing or controlling diabetes.

    We will be able to talk for one hour. I understand that we will be cut off at that time no matter now exciting the discussion turns out to be.

    Finally, the call-in number is 1 (800) 977-8002. When you call, a robotic voice will ask for the participant code, so enter 82611869#.

    Please join Gretchen and me. And have your questions ready!