Food Sensitivities & Acid Reflux: Breaking the Food Label Code
Food Labels: Breaking the Code
Many individuals with acid reflux disease have food sensitivities. For example, my son can not tolerate corn, eggs, wheat, or dairy. And even though new food labeling requirements took effect in the United States in 2006, there are still times that reading food labels can be a bit complicated. This is because a food may take on an unfamiliar name if it is used for processing purposes, or if a food is packaged outside of the U.S., the stricter food labeling requirements may not have been met.
The following is a list of foods frequently related to food intolerances and some of the associated terms which you may want to avoid if you are trying to avoid these foods.
Caramel color or flavoring
High protein flavor
Modified food starch
Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
Artificial and natural flavoring
To see more posts relating to acid reflux diet click here