Multiple Sclerosis

What is "Stage 4" MS?

    Brandis M, Reitman NC.   Talking about Palliative Care, Hospice, and Dying.

    © 2009 National Multiple Sclerosis Society

    Brandis M, Reitman NC, Gruenewald D, Del Bene M.   Opening Doors: The Palliative Care Continuum in Multiple Sclerosis.

    © 2008 National Multiple Sclerosis Society

    Canadian Virtual Hospice.   What can be expected with end-stage multiple sclerosis?   Accessed online July 29, 2012.

    Inglese M.   Multiple Sclerosis: New Insights and Trends.   AJNR May 2006; 27:954-957.

    Leray E, et al.   Evidence for a two-stage disability progression in multiple sclerosis. Brain 2010; 133(7):1900-1913. doi: 10.1093/brain/awq076   First published online: April 27, 2010

    Northrop DE, Frankel D.   Caring for Loved Ones with Advanced MS: A Guide for Families. © 2007 National Multiple Sclerosis Society

    Teasell RW.   Managing advanced multiple sclerosis. Can Fam Physician 1993 May; 39:1127-30, 1133-4, 1137-41.

    Thompson AJ, et al.   Long Term Management of Multiple Sclerosis.   MS Management Apr 1994; 1(1).

    Lisa Emrich

    Lisa Emrich


    Living with multiple sclerosis and rheumatoid Arthritis, Lisa Emrich is an award-winning, passionate patient advocate, health writer, classical musician, and backroad cyclist. Her stories inspire others to live better and stay active. Lisa is author of the blog Brass and Ivory: Life with MS and RA and founder of the Carnival of MS Bloggers. Lisa frequently works with organizations in support of better policies, patient-centered research, and research funding.

    Lisa serves on HealthCentral’s Health Advocates Advisory Board, and is a Social Ambassador for the MSHealthCentral Facebook page.